Congratulations to all 2022 ABmunis award winners

Each year at Alberta Municipalities' Annual Convention & Trade Show, outstanding municipal professionals from across Alberta are recognized for their collaboration, dedication and commitment to excellence.

“It is my honour and pleasure to recognize these outstanding individuals at Alberta Municipalities’ Convention in Calgary,” said President Cathy Heron. “Communities can only succeed when they are supported by dedicated professionals who are committed to the residents they serve. It is by recognizing these people that we express our gratitude and show our appreciation for what they do every day to make our communities thrive.”

This year’s recipients include:

Alberta Municipalities/SLGM Dedicated Senior Team Award: This award, which recognizes an outstanding municipal team that demonstrates service excellence and dedication to municipal government, has been awarded to the Town of Valleyview.

Alberta Municipalities/SLGM Dedicated CAO Award: This award, which recognizes a CAO for long‐term excellence and dedication to both municipal government and chief administrative management, has been awarded to Lisa deSoto, CAO of Town of Canmore.

The Dedicated Senior Team and Dedicated CAO awards are co-sponsored by ABmunis and the Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM), Alberta Municipalities’ valued partner.

“Congratulations to this year’s award recipients! The recipients honored with these awards have worked tirelessly to support their municipalities and the communities they serve,” said SLGM Chair David Churchill.

Alberta Municipalities Distinguished Service Award: Presented to elected officials of urban municipalities who have served 20 or more years on municipal council, this year’s recipients include:

  • Councillor Lorna Storoschuk, Town of Bonnyville 
  • Past Councillor and Mayor Ray Prevost, Town of Bonnyville 
  • Councillor Rene Van Brabant, Town of Bonnyview
  • Councillor Don Smith, Town of Barrhead
  • Past Councillor Adolph Bablitz, Town of Barrhead (Posthumous) 
  • Past Councillor Berthold Peter Proft, Town of Barrhead (Posthumous) 
  • Councillor Raymond Yaremchuk, Town of Myrnam
  • Past Cllr/Mayor Darcy J. Burke, Village of Rockyford

Alberta Municipalities Award of Excellence: The Award of Excellence acknowledges outstanding civic leadership by either past or present municipal elected officials who have held office for at least three years in Alberta. This year’s winners are Mayor Mike Yargeau, Town of Penhold, and John Borrowman, Town of Canmore.

Alberta Municipalities’ Municipal Environmental Awards recognizes Alberta municipalities with excellence in environmental practices in their municipal operations, administration, and governance. This year’s Municipal Environmental Awards (populations 2,500 to 10,000) goes to the Town of Sundre, Innovation in Wastewater Treatment. This year’s Municipal Environmental Awards (populations 10,000 and above) goes to the City of Airdrie, Capital Projects Office.

Life Membership Award: This award recognizes individuals for their extraordinary contributions to Alberta Municipalities over an extended period of time. This year’s recipient is Tony Caterina.

Tony has served on Edmonton City Council as a City Councillor since 2007. He was appointed to the Alberta Municipalities Board in 2013 as a Director for Cities over 500,000, a role he fulfilled for six consecutive terms. His guidance, mentorship and sincere interest in communities of all sizes were especially appreciated by his fellow directors and members. Tony has played an instrumental role in guiding our Association and ensuring it continues to represent the needs of our members.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!

Each year, we receive award nominations with examples of the excellence and professionalism of many individuals, who all play key roles in supporting their municipalities’ successes.

Along with our partner, SLGM, we look forward to celebrating the winning municipal leaders, and congratulating them in person on September 20 at the Fairmont Palliser, Calgary.