Apply for Disaster Mitigation & Adaptation Funding

Local governments in Alberta have until July 19, 2023, to apply for their share of $1 billion in federal funding for critical infrastructure projects.

The Disaster Mitigation and Adaptation Fund (DMAF) will fund up to 40 per cent of an infrastructure project that aims to mitigate current and future climate related risks and disasters. Eligible projects include those that increase community resilience by:

  • constructing new public infrastructure, including natural infrastructure
  • strengthening, modifying, rehabilitating, or reinforcing existing infrastructure
  • total eligible expenses must be greater than $1 million. 

Projects that are ineligible for DMAF funding would include emergency and disaster response infrastructure, relocation of communities or dwellings, purchase of dwellings or buildings, equipment other than monitoring equipment part of a greater system or land acquisition if it is the sole component of the project.

The Government of Canada will examine the following eight (8) merit criteria when reviewing projects for approval:

  1. Return on Investment (ROI)
  2. Hazard Risk
  3. Resilience
  4. Project Rationale
  5. Innovation
  6. Risk Transfer
  7. Strategic Alignment
  8. Project Co-benefits

Merit-based funding programs are important for addressing critical infrastructure gaps for municipalities. To improve your chances of qualifying for funding, review the program guidelines early and reach out to program staff to directly ask any questions you might have. See the DMAF program website for more information.