2023 ABmunis Award winners announced

Each year at the Alberta Municipalities Annual Convention and Trade Show, outstanding municipal professionals from across Alberta are recognized for their collaboration, dedication and commitment to excellence.

“It is my honour and pleasure to formally recognize these remarkable individuals and teams at our Convention in Edmonton,” said President Cathy Heron. “Communities only succeed when they are supported by dedicated professionals who are committed to the residents they serve. We deeply appreciate all they do, day in and day out, to make their communities thrive.”

The Dedicated Senior Team and Dedicated CAO awards are co-sponsored by ABmunis and its valued partner, the Society of Local Government Managers (SLGM).

“This year’s award recipients have worked tirelessly to support their municipalities and the communities they serve,” said June Boyda, Chair of the SLGM. “On behalf of the members of our organization, we congratulate and thank them for their significant contributions.”

Alberta Municipalities/SLGM Dedicated Senior Team Award

This award, which recognizes an outstanding municipal team that demonstrates service excellence and dedication to municipal government, has been awarded to the Town of Diamond Valley.

Alberta Municipalities/SLGM Dedicated CAO Award

This award, which recognizes a CAO for long‐term excellence and dedication to both municipal government and chief administrative management, has been awarded to CAO Estelle Girard, Village of Girouxville.

Alberta Municipalities Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to elected officials of member communities who have served on municipal council for 20 or more years. This year’s recipients include:

  • Deputy Mayor Florence Robinson, Village of Linden
  • Mayor Tom Grant, Town of Vulcan
  • Councillor Gerry Baril, Town of Magrath
  • Councillor Harry Kassian, Summer Village of Nakamun Park.

Alberta Municipalities Award of Excellence

This award acknowledges outstanding civic leadership by either past or present municipal elected officials who have held office for at least three years in Alberta. This year’s winners are:

  • Mayor Bernie Poulin, Summer Village of Silver Sands
  • Mayor Jeff Genung, Town of Cochrane.

Alberta Municipalities’ Municipal Environmental Awards

These awards recognize member communities that excel in environmental practices in their municipal operations, administration, and governance. This year's winners are:

  • Populations under 2,500: The Town of Calmar and the Town of Smoky Lake
  • Populations 10,000 and above: The City of Calgary and the City of St. Albert.