

Office of the Minister



December 15, 2020

AR 83588

Mr. Barry Morishita President AUMA 300 - 8616 - 51 Avenue Edmonton, AB T6E 6E6

Dear Mr. Morishita:

Thank you for your November 9, 2020 letter regarding the AUMA's 2020 resolution for permanent transit funding. As Minister of Alberta Transportation, I am able to provide the following information.

The Government of Alberta understands the importance of public transportation for Albertans, and we continue to commit capital funding for municipal projects as our budget allows. Current capital grant funding commitments consist of \$3 billion for LRT expansion, \$17 million for the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program's Public Transit stream, and previously \$2 billion for GreenTRIP. We have also partnered with the federal government to provide \$140 million in operating funding as part of the Safe Restart Agreement to help rebuild Alberta's economy.

I have consulted with my colleague Honourable Tracy Allard, Minister of Municipal Affairs, who provided the following information. Under the current Municipal Sustainability Initiative (MSI), municipalities can choose to dedicate funding to public transit. As the funding is not restricted to public transit, this respects municipalities' autonomy to make decisions and use the funding to address local priorities. Currently, the Government of Alberta does not have plans to introduce a permanent transit-funding stream or to require a portion of MSI to be used for transit.

.../2

320 Legislature Building, 10800 - 97 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2B6 Canada Telephone 780-427-2080 Fax 780-422-2722

Printed on recycled paper

If you have further questions or concerns, please contact Mr. Matt Buffett, Manager, Transit Funding Programs. Mr. Buffett can be reached toll-free at 310-0000, then 780-644-5074, or at matt.buffett@gov.ab.ca.

Thank you for writing.

Sincerely,

Ric McIver Minister

cc: Honourable Tracy Allard, Minister of Municipal Affairs
Honourable Prasad Panda, Minister of Infrastructure
Honourable Travis Toews, President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance
Matt Buffett, Manager, Transit Funding Programs, Alberta Transportation